## I MINA' BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Legislative Session Resolution No. <u>53</u> (LS)

Introduced by:

J.A. Lujan E.J.B. Calvo M A.R. Unpingco

<u>-</u> ني: نن

Relative to commending and congratulating the Membership of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Centers during Senior Citizens Month of 2007.

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, I Mina' Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan recognizes the Membership of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Centers. Some thirty-eight (38) years ago, in August of 1969, the first Senior Citizen Center was established here on Guam by SPIMA (Servicio Para I Manåmko). Now, twelve (12) Senior Citizen Centers serve various village communities throughout our island; and

WHEREAS, the Senior Center is in itself just an empty building, it is our Manamko who inspire it with life, purpose, and meaning. Our island's Seniors have fulfilled a vital role here, and it is important that we remain faithful to our duty by ensuring that they have a special place to remain active in our community; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that I Mina' Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guähan and the people of Guam, acknowledge that the Guam we now know and enjoy was made possible only through the sacrifice and dedication to Guam's values and traditions. Without the wisdom of our Manåmko, Guam would not be the place it is today. The Seniors are the foundation Guam has built upon. However, their work is not yet done; we need their wisdom and experience to guide our leaders to an even better Guam; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the Membership of the Agana Heights, Agat, Astumbo, Dededo, Inarajan, Mangilao/Barrigada, Merizo, Santa Rita, Sinajana, Tamuning, Yigo, and the Yona/Talofofo Senior Citizens Centers; to Mr. Arthur San Agustin, the Director of the Department of Public Health and Social Services; to Mr. Segundo Aguon, the Director of GGARP/SPIMA; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA' BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker EDWARD J.B. CALVO
Senator and Secretary of the Legislature

JESSE ANDERSON LUJAN
Senator and Sponsor